Justices of the Peace

Judicial and administrative duties

Aberdeen Sheriff CourtClick to enlarge image

Justices of the peace are lay magistrates who sit with a legally qualified adviser to deal with summary criminal cases. There are around 450 justices, who are drawn from all walks of life. Justices sit either alone or on a treble bench and deal with many driving offences such as speeding, careless driving, tachograph offences and driving without insurance. They also deal with less serious assault, breach of the peace, theft and other less serious crimes.  Their powers of punishment are limited to 60 days’ imprisonment or a fine of up to £2,500 or both and to disqualify drivers on a discretionary basis.

The office of Justice of the Peace dates back to 1609, originally involving administrative, policing and judicial functions. The current justice of the peace courts were created in 2007 to replace district courts, which were operated by local authorities. The Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service is now responsible for the administration of Justice of the Peace courts, which are organised by sheriffdom rather than local authority area. Throughout their history, justices have remained lay people, dispensing criminal justice on a local basis.

Justices are appointed by Scottish Ministers for five-year periods on the recommendation of Justice of the Peace Advisory Committees.

For more information about becoming a Justice of the Peace click here.

Sheriff Name Court Name Gender F/R
Aitken, Gary Inverness M F
Anwar, Aisha Glasgow F R
Berry, Andrew Wick/Kirkwall M F
Bicket, David M Hamilton M R
Braid, Peter J Edinburgh M R
Brown, Alastair N Dundee M R
Brown, Douglas A Hamilton M R
Brown, Jack Aberdeen M R
Buchanan, Graham K Aberdeen M R
Caldwell, Craig Falkirk M R
Carmichael, Alastair Dundee M R
Collins, Petra M Airdrie F R
Collins, Simon Dunfermline M R
Corke, Donald S Edinburgh M R
Craig, Susan A Livingston F F
Crowe, Frank R Edinburgh M R
Crozier, Paul V Glasgow M R
Cruickshank, Ian Lerwick M R
Cubie, Andrew M Glasgow M R
Cunninghame, Carole Ayr F F
Deutsch, Anthony F Glasgow M R
Di Emidio, Pino Forfar M F
Dickson, Christopher Inverness M R
Drummond QC, Lorna Dundee F F
Duff, Alistair J M Dundee M R
Edington, Martin G R Livingston M R
Fife, Robert D M Edinburgh M R
Fleetwood, Gordon Inverness M F
Fleming, Iain M Greenock M F
Foran, Mary S Kilmarnock F F
Foulis, Lindsay D R Perth M R
Galbraith, Morag M Airdrie F R
Gallacher, William J Dumbarton M R
Gilchrist QC, Jamie Kirkcaldy M F
Gilchrist, William Stirling M F
Hamilton, Derek J Greenock M R
Hammond, Peter Livingston M R
Hendry, Maxwell G Dumbarton M R
Holligan, William H Edinburgh M R
Hughes, Patrick Oban M R
Hughes, Thomas G Dundee M R
Ireland, William S S Paisley M R
Jamieson, George Dumfries M R
Johnston QC, Johanna M Glasgow F R
Jones QC, Martin Glasgow M R
Kelly QC, Daniel Hamilton M R
Kerr, Joan Glasgow F R
Kinloch, Douglas A Livingston M F
Leslie, Desmond Ayr M R
Liddell, Margaret Glasgow F R
Liddle, Gordon W M Edinburgh M R
MacDonald, Eilidh Inverness F R
MacFadyen, Alasdair L Hamilton M R
MacKenzie, Alan Glasgow M R
Mackie, Andrew Glasgow M R
Mackie, David N Alloa M R
MacKinnon, Neil J Glasgow M R
Macnair QC, Charles N Dunfermline M R
Mann, Philip Aberdeen M R
McCartney, Frances Paisley F F
McCartney, Thomas Paisley M F
McCormick, John Glasgow M R
McCulloch, Andrew G Kirkcaldy M R
McDonald, Iona S Kilmarnock F R
McDonald, Robert Banff R F
McFadyen, Norman Edinburgh M R
McFarlane, Elizabeth Kilmarnock F R
McGowan, Kenneth J Edinburgh M R
McIntyre, Andrew Greenock M R
McLaughlin, Morag Aberdeen F R
McSherry, John C C Dunfermline M R
Millar, Thomas S Hamilton M F
Miller, Alan D Glasgow M R
Miller, Andrew Aberdeen M R
Miller, Ian H L Glasgow M R
Mohan, Brian Dumfries M F
Montgomery, John Ayr M R
Mundy, John K Falkirk M R
Murphy QC, Sean Glasgow M F
Murray, Gregor Forfar M R
Napier, Graeme Aberdeen M R
Neilson, Margaret M Inverness F R
Noble, Alistair W Edinburgh M R
O'Carroll, Derek Airdrie M F
O'Grady QC, Michael G Edinburgh M R
Pasportnikov, Olga Elgin F R
Paterson, Peter Selkirk M F
Pattison, Scott Hamilton M R
Pender, David J Paisley M R
Pender, Simon C Dumbarton M R
Pettigrew, Colin W Paisley M R
Pieri, Frank L Airdrie M R
Platt, Joseph Glasgow M R
Reid, Stuart B Glasgow M R
Reith QC, Fiona L Edinburgh F R
Ritchie QC, Norman Glasgow M R
Robb, Kenneth R Stranraer M R
Robertson, Alexander W Stirling M R
Ross, Nigel Edinburgh M F
Ruxton, Linda M Glasgow F R
Scullion, Daniel Glasgow M R
Shead, Christopher M Perth M F
Sheehan, Wendy A Edinburgh F R
Sinclair, Susan M Paisley F R
Small, Harry K Hamilton M R
Smart, Marie T Hamilton F R
Smith, Vincent J Hamilton M R
Spy, James Paisley M R
Stewart, Nikola C Lanark F R
Stirling, Alison Edinburgh F R
Summers, William Aberdeen M R
Sutherland, David O Stornoway M R
Swanson, Alayne E Glasgow F R
Tait, Fiona Edinburgh F R
Thornton, Alastair G D Kirkcaldy M R
Wade QC, Gillian Perth F R
Waldron, Shona A Hamilton F R
Ward, Thomas Dunoon M R
Watson, Alistair G Kilmarnock M R
Way, George A Dundee M R
Weir QC, Robert Edinburgh M R
Welsh QC, Thomas Edinburgh M R
Williamson, James H Kirkcaldy M R
Wood, Lindsay Glasgow M R
Wood, William M Perth M R
Young QC, David Airdrie M F

Related FAQs

Q.Do all judges wear robes? Why do judges wear different robes in civil and criminal courts?
Q.How do I address a judge in court?
Q.Why do judges wear wigs?

View all related FAQs

A day in the life of a sheriff

Aberdeen Sheriff Court

Read more about the life a sheriff in a busy city court.

Read more