Seven summary sheriffs appointed

Seven new summary sheriffs have been appointed to the judicial office created as part of major reform of Scotland’s courts.

The appointments are as follows:

Summary sheriffs appointed to the Sheriffdom of Glasgow and Strathkelvin, sitting at Glasgow Sheriff Court are: Patricia Pryce and Charles Lugton.

Summary sheriff appointed to the Sheriffdom of Lothian and Borders, sitting at Edinburgh Sheriff Court is: Roderick Flinn.

Summary sheriffs appointed to the Sheriffdom of North Strathclyde, sitting at Paisley Sheriff Court are: Sukhwinder Gill, Michael Higgins and Hugh McGinty.

Summary sheriff appointed to the Sheriffdom of South Strathclyde, Dumfries and Galloway sitting at Dumfries Sheriff Court is: Colm Dempsey.

The judicial office of summary sheriff was created to deal with some types of civil and criminal cases in the sheriff court.

The seven new summary sheriffs will take up office in November 2019.


Her Majesty the Queen has appointed seven summary sheriffs on the recommendation of the First Minister.

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon made her recommendations for appointment on the basis of a report by the Judicial Appointments Board for Scotland.

The Courts Reform (Scotland) Act 2014 created a new judicial office of summary sheriff.

The Judicial Appointments Board for Scotland is an independent advisory public body with the role of recommending individuals for appointment to judicial offices within the Board’s remit including judge of the Court of Session, sheriff principal, sheriff, and summary sheriff.

The First Minister has statutory responsibility for making recommendations to Her Majesty the Queen and is required by statute to consult the Lord President of the Court of Session before making her recommendation.

The salary of a summary sheriff is £110,335 per annum.