Appointment of Summary Sheriffs

Six new summary sheriffs have been appointed, the Judicial Office for Scotland has announced.

Valerie Mays and Paul Brown have been appointed to the Sheriffdom of Glasgow and Strathkelvin, sitting at Glasgow Sheriff Court.

Lindsey (McPhie) Kooner has been appointed to the Sheriffdom of North Strathclyde, based at Paisley Sheriff Court, while Liam Murphy has been appointed to the Sheriffdom of South Strathclyde, Dumfries and Galloway.

Keith O’Mahony has been appointed to the Sheriffdom of Tayside, Central and Fife, based at Perth Sheriff Court, and Ian Wallace has been appointed as a summary sheriff for the Sheriffdom of Grampian, Highland and Islands based at Aberdeen Sheriff Court.

The six new summary sheriffs will take up office on 1 October 2018.

Background information

The Office of Summary Sheriff was created to deal with certain types of civil and criminal cases in the sheriff court.

Her Majesty the Queen appointed the six summary sheriffs on the recommendation of the First Minister.

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon made her recommendations for appointment on the basis of a report by the Judicial Appointments Board for Scotland.

The Judicial Appointments Board for Scotland is an independent advisory public body with the role of recommending individuals for appointment to judicial offices within the Board’s remit including judge of the Court of Session, sheriff principal, sheriff, and summary sheriff.

The First Minister has statutory responsibility for making recommendations to Her Majesty the Queen and is required by statute to consult the Lord President of the Court of Session before making her recommendation.

The salary of a summary sheriff is £108,171 per annum.

Biographical information on appointees available on request.