Appointment of Employment Judges in Scotland

Fourteen new Employment Judges have been appointed to the panel of judges of Employment Tribunals (Scotland).

By virtue of the power conferred upon the Lord President by regulation 8 of the Employment Tribunals (Constitution and Rules of Procedure) Regulations 2013, Lord Carloway has appointed Claire Marie McManus, Muriel Robison and Mark David Whitcombe as salaried Employment Judges.

Ms McManus and Ms Robison were appointed with effect from 1 January 2018, while Mr Whitcombe’s appointment will take effect from 5 March 2018.

The Lord President has also appointed the following 11 persons as Employment Judges on a fee-paid basis, for the five-year period from 15 January 2018 until 15 January 2023:

• Neil Antony Buzzard

• Sally Emma Cowen

• David William Hoey

• Amanda Crawford Jones

• Paul Dominic McMahon

• Roderick Murdoch McPherson

• Declan John O’Dempsey

• Peter George O’Donnell

• Melanie Jane Sangster

• Michelle Diane Sutherland

• Giles Ian Woolfson

The announcement follows a recruitment exercise calling for applications from any suitably qualified individuals who wished to be considered for appointment.