Court of Session Term Dates Direction – changes for Legal Year 2017/18

A new Direction issued by the Lord President, which sets out the sitting days for the Court of Session for the Legal Years 2016/17, 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/20, introduces a significant change, of which legal practitioners and others will wish to be aware.

This Direction effectively abolishes the traditional three court terms of the Legal Year, and provides that the court is able to sit throughout the year, with effect from the beginning of the legal year 2017/18. This would be subject to two fortnightly vacation periods at Christmas and Easter. Accordingly, the court would continue to be ‘in session’ throughout the legal year subject to vacation periods.  

The full Direction is available via the Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service website.

The Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service

The Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service (SCTS) is responsible for providing the staff, buildings and technology to support Scotland’s courts, the work of the independent judiciary, the courts’ Rules Councils and the Office of the Public Guardian. The Board of the Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service is chaired by the Lord President. Visit the SCTS website for details of daily court business including court locations, contact numbers, rules, guidance and advice for both professional users and members of the public.

Find out more about attending court