New Appeal Sheriffs appointed

New appointments to the office of Appeal Sheriff have been made by the Lord President.

After seeking expressions of interest from serving sheriffs, the Lord President appointed six new members to the Sheriff Appeal Court. 

The following sheriffs have been appointed: Sheriff Andrew Cubie, Sheriff William Holligan, Sheriff Norman McFadyen, Sheriff Andrew McCulloch, Sheriff Harry Small and Sheriff Nigel Ross.  

The appointments are effective for a period of five years. 

Further information

The appointments are made by the Lord President under section 50 of the Courts Reform (Scotland) Act 2014. To be eligible for appointment a sheriff must have held office for at least five years.


Sheriff Appeal Court to sit in Glasgow

Monday, 30 July, 2018

New Judicial Protocol for cross-border children’s cases

Tuesday, 24 July, 2018

New Employment Judge

Monday, 28 May, 2018

New Sheriff appointed

Wednesday, 16 May, 2018

Long cases Practice Note

Thursday, 10 May, 2018

Latest News


Keep up to date with the latest developments here or follow us on Twitter

Read the latest news