Five new judges appointed

Five Senators have been appointed to the College of Justice.

The new Senators, who will sit in Scotland’s highest criminal and civil courts, are:

  • Sheriff John Beckett QC
  • Ailsa Carmichael QC
  • Alistair Clark QC
  • the Rt. Hon Frank Mulholland QC  
  • Andrew Stewart QC.

The dates for their installations will be announced in due course.

For more information on the appointments see Scottish Government news.

More information is also available on the role of Senators.

Latest News


Keep up to date with the latest developments here or follow us on Twitter

Read the latest news