Appointment of Queen’s Counsel

Six new QCs appointed.

Her Majesty the Queen has been pleased to approve the appointment of 6 new Queen’s Counsel, on the recommendation of First Minister Alex Salmond.

The new appointees are Kenneth McBrearty, Gillian A Wade, David H Sheldon, Catherine Dowdalls, Sheriff James A Farrell and Sheriff Roderick J MacLeod, who are all members of the Faculty of Advocates.

Those appointed were nominated by the Rt Hon Lord Gill, the Lord Justice General.  With the agreement of Lord Gill, Elaine Noad acted as an observer of the process and provided the First Minster with a separate report on her findings.

Read the news story on the Scottish Government website here.


Queen's Counsel Appointments 2019

Wednesday, 18 September, 2019

Scottish Tribunals Annual Report 2018-19

Friday, 26 July, 2019

Lady Rae awarded Honorary Doctorate of Laws

Friday, 5 July, 2019

Office of Senator of the College of Justice

Thursday, 4 July, 2019

OBE for Sheriff

Friday, 21 June, 2019

Latest News


Keep up to date with the latest developments here or follow us on Twitter

Read the latest news