New Lothian and Borders Justices of the Peace

Fourteen new Justices of the Peace have been appointed for Lothian and Borders Sheriffdom.

They are to be officially sworn in on Monday 5 August at Edinburgh Justice of the Peace Court by Sheriff Principal Mhairi Stephen.

The new appointments are the first in the sheriffdom under a new system introduced in 2007 to ensure transparency and fairness. The positions were advertised in the press and the successful applicants appointed by the Scottish Ministers after completion of a training course and on the recommendation by the  Justice of the Peace Advisory Committee (JPAC) for Lothian and Borders.

Latest News


Keep up to date with the latest developments here or follow us on Twitter

Read the latest news